The Saeima approves two new members of the Fiscal Discipline Council  5 March 2020

“It is gratifying that the Fiscal Discipline Council capacity has been increased by two young high-profile professionals in the field of economics and finance, with broad international experience and understanding of global economic processes. I very much hope that the knowledge of our new colleagues will be a powerful resource that will contribute to the work of the Council and strengthen fiscal discipline in our country, ”admits FDP chairwoman Inna Steinbuka.

New nominations for FDP member positions had to be made as three members of the FDP - Janis Platais, Ingars Erins and Ulo Kaasik - expired on 31 December 2019.

As of January 1, 2020, the FDP is headed by Inna Steinbuka, her deputy is Morten Hansen, Head of the Economics Department of the Stockholm School of Economics in Riga, and the public finance expert Andzs Ubelis is also on the board.

With the approval of Mr Jakobsons and Mr Aboltins, the Council will be composed of five members.
The Fiscal Discipline Act provides for six members to be elected to the FDP.

Andrejs Jakobsons is a lecturer and memeber of the board at RTU Riga Business School member. He specialized in macroeconomics, management economics, labor economics and international economics. Earlier he led World Bank projects in the Baltic States. Andrejs has been financial and tax expert at the Latvian Employers' Confederation. Has a Master's degreein Economics from Indiana University in the USA.

Martins Abolins is an economist at Citadele Bank with more than ten years of experience in analysis and forecasting of Latvian and global economic processes. Martins previously worked in the Ministry of Finance of the Republic of Latvia, where he gained extensive international experience representing Latvia in the European Commission and OECD working group. He worked in the UK Ministry of Finance for exchange of experience. Martings graduated from the University of Latvia and received a Master's degree in Economics.